Skip to main content
CERES Home Page CERES Home Page

26th CERES-II Science Team Meeting - October 2016

The Links given below will open the file in a new window.

[All documents linked below are given in PDF format]

Radiation Budget Workshop

Meeting Minutes / Presentations: [ PDF ]

Tuesday 18th October
ECMWF, Reading, UK

GERB technical Session 9am start

Helen Brindley (Imperial)
James Rufus & Jacqui Russell
Andy Smith (RAL)
Alessandro Ipe (RMIB)
Edward Baudrez (RMIB)
Jacqui Russell (Imperial)
Alessandro Ipe (RMIB)
Break 11:10-11:30 (lobby)

ScaRaB technical Session 11:30am

Thierry Tremas (CNES)
Jean-Louis Raynaud (CNES)
Patrick Raberanto (LMD/CNRS)
Olivier Chomette (LMD/CNRS)
& Michel Capderou (LMD/CNRS)
Thierry Tremas (CNES)
Lunch 1-2pm

CERES technical session 2:40pm start

Norman Loeb (NASA LaRC)
Susan Thomas
Break 3:30-3:50pm (lobby)
Kory Priestley (NASA LaRC)
Anum Barki (NASA LaRC)
Patrick Minnis (NASA LaRC)
William Smith (NASA LaRC)
Su Wenying (NASA LaRC)
Adjourn 5:30pm

6:30pm Evening Science teams meal at Zero Degrees, Reading (9 Bridge Street, RG1 2LR) -- Dutch treat (all welcome).


Wednesday 19th October
ECMWF, Reading, UK

CERES technical session continues 9am start

David Kratz (NASA LaRC)
Seiji Kato (NASA LaRC)
David Doelling (NASA LaRC)
Norman Loeb (NASA LaRC)
Seiji Kato (NASA LaRC)
Break 10:45—11:05 (lobby)
Paul Stackhouse (NASA LaRC)
Michael Bosilovich
Jonathan Gleason (NASA LaRC)
Patrick Taylor (NASA LaRC)
pp Sarah McCrea
Discussion Session: Observing requirements for ERB 12:20 pm start
Helen Brindley (Imperial)
Norm Loeb (NASA LaRC)
Lunch 1-2pm

Science presentations
contributed papers are 20’ which is to include 3’ questions, invited presentations are 40’ including 5’ questions.

Climate response 2pm

Jonathan Gregory
(NCAS-Climate, Reading, UKMO)
Timothy Andrews (UKMO)
Maria Zita Hakuba (Colorado State Univ.)
Yoko Tsushima (UKMO)
Break 3:40-4pm (lobby)
Simon Tett (Edinburgh)
Piers Forster (Leeds)
Thorsen Tyler (NPP/NASA LaRC)
Richard Allan (Reading/NCEO)

Poster session /drinks reception 5:40pm (Weather Room)

Planned Posters
Posters should be standard A0 size (portrait orientation)
841mm (width) x 1189mm (height).
  1. The TOA radiation climate data records developed in the frame of EUMETSAT climate monitoring SAF
  2. Total Solar Irradiance Data from Fengyun-3 Meteorological Satellites
  3. Monthly diurnal average GERB products for Obs4MIPs
  4. New approach to SW unfiltering
  5. Comparison of the GERB / CERES SW radiances 2004 to 2013
  6. Composite radiative properties of tropical mesoscale convective systems over their life cycle
  7. Changes in global energy budget at the top of the atmosphere 1985-2015
  8. GERB observations from 41.5°E, opportunities and challenges
  9. GERB edition 2 scene identification and radiance to flux improvements
  10. Spatio-temporal representativeness of ground based surface solar radiation measurements
  Nicolas Clerbaux (RMIB)

Qi Jin (National Satellite meteorological center, China)
Jacqui Russell & Richard Bantges (Imperial)
Steven Dewitte (RMIB)
Rhys Parfitt (Imperial)
Thomas Fiolleau (CNRS)
Chunlei Liu (Reading)
James Rufus (Imperial)
Alessandro Ipe (RMIB)
Matthias Schwarz (ETHZ)

Thursday 20th October
ECMWF, Reading, UK

Cloud & aerosol 9am

Alejandro Bodas-Salcedo (UKMO)
Alessio Bozzo (ECMWF)
Edward Gryspeerdt
(Universitat Leipzig/Imperial)
Zachary Eitzen (SSAI/NASA-LaRC)
Break 10:40-11 (lobby)
Helen Brindley & James Ingram (Imperial)
Souichiro Hioki (Texas A&M)
Seiji Kato (NASA LaRC)
Dominique Bounio
(CNRM, Meteo-France/CNRS)
Matt Christensen (STFC-RAL/Oxford)
Patrick Minnis (NASA LaRC)
Lunch 1-2pm

Cloud & aerosol continued 2pm

William Smith (NASA LaRC)
Xiquan Dong (Univ. of Arizona)

Climate cycles 2:40pm

Peter Hill (Reading)
Wenying Su (NASA LaRC)
Paul Stackhouse/David Kratz (NASA LaRC)
Break 3:40 – 4:00pm (lobby)

Datasets 4:00pm

Qiu Hong (NSMC CMA)
Nicolas Clerbaux (RMIB)
Joseph Corbett (SSAI/NASA LaRC)
Manon Urbain (RMIB)
Adjourn 5.20pm

Friday 21st October
ECMWF, Reading, UK

Radiative considerations 9am

Robin Hogan (ECMWF)
Keith Shine (Reading)
Xianglei Huang (U. Michigan)
Florian Tornow
(Free University of Berlin)
Break 10:40-11:00 (lobby)

Surface 11am

Martin Wild (ETHZ)
Patrick Taylor (NASA LaRC)
Steven Dewitte (RMIB)
Jorg Trentmann (DWD/CM-SAF)
Meeting wrap up 12:40pm
Lunch 1-2pm
Meeting end 2pm

Return to CERES Meetings

  Image: NASA Logo NASA Official: Dr. Norman Loeb
Page Curator: Edward Kizer
Page Last Modified: 04/03/2020 09:33:29 EST
Site Last Modified: 04/03/2020 09:33:29 EST